Setting up of Sports University and Centre of Sports Sciences


The Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports has established one National Sports University (NSU) at Imphal, Manipur. At present there is no proposal under consideration of the Ministry to set up any other Sports University. The Ministry is assisting the following six institutions for starting Post Graduate programmes in Sports Sciences:

(1) Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (Punjab)

(2) Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education, Gwalior (Madhya Pradesh)

(3) National Institute of Nutrition, Hyderabad (Telangana)

(4) Annamalai University, Annamalainagar (Tamil Nadu)

(5) Central University of Rajasthan, Ajmer (Rajasthan)

(6) University of Calcutta, Kolkata (West Bengal)

This Information was given by the Minister of State (I/C) Shri Kiren Rijiju in a written reply in the Rajya Sabha.